Te Whare Tapa Wha – Recount

Te Whare Tapa Wha – Recount

One of New Zealand’s most beautiful beaches I’ve been to was a black sand beach. This beach is found on the West – side Coast of Auckland. 

My family and I went to a black sand beach to go fishing. It was so exciting because I’ve never been fishing before. I loved being able to share this experience with them and it helped my taha whanau wall. When my family and I got to the beach, we were all very hyped because the waves were big and massive.

After a while of driving on the sand, we finally found a spot to camp. After setting up our tent. My cousins and I went for a walk around our camp, and we found a beautiful waterfall nearby. Walking up the hills and back down was a real struggle, it also helped my Taha Tinana. Once we got back to camp, to help my Taha Hinengaro wall I was finally able to relax, and stretch. 

The first thing my Uncle wanted to do was set up he’s fishing machine. So how this works, there’s a boat that goes out onto the sea, and attached to the boat is a line, and that line we have to hook the fishing hooks into the line. We left the fishing machine out for an hour. After an hour we bought the fishing machine.

While bringing it in there were a lot of fish coming in. 

Holding an alive fish was weird, it was also so shiny and smiley at the same time. While watching the fish come in, omg! I couldn’t believe what I was seeing, it was the biggest fish I’d ever seen. It was a big snapper. My whole family was amazed at what the fish looked like.  

Spending time at the beach really helped me with my Taha Wairua and my Taha Hinegraro, I was so relaxed listening to the waves crashing and listening to my family having a good time all together. Having to spend time at the beach with my family helped me with my Taha Whanau as well. 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Te Whare Tapa Wha – Recount

  1. Talaofa’lava Avania, Melepalu here.
    After reading your blog about Te whare tapa wha , I now know what each wall reprsent. I love how you found a way to join your daily life and Te whare tapa wha together and make a recount.

    Keep up the Amazing work!
    – Melepalu Maasi

  2. Hi Avania
    This writing is amazing, I love how you were talking about the Te Whare Tapa Wha
    Good job and keep up the good work 😀

  3. Hi Avania,
    I love your writing about how you talked about Te Whare Tapa Wha
    Keep up the good work !!
    -Destiny

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *